TESTIMONIALS

CG Masters is proud of the support we continue to receive from the animation and visual effects industries and our alumni. These close connections are the backbone of our success. We are happy to connect potential students with alumni or current students to learn more about our training program, instructors and facility. There are also some helpful testimonials/reviews on Google!
CG Masters Google Reviews
EXCELLENT
31 reviews on
Luisa Rafidi
Luisa Rafidi
2020-11-21
What sets CG Masters apart from any other school is that they teach you how to function in a studio environment. You learn about production pipeline and studio procedures, and that's invaluable training to have. On top of that, all the instructors are great, and you learn many things—photography, compositing, among others. The people in this school care about your success, and I'm happy that I chose them to teach me.
Read more
Hiram Araujo
Hiram Araujo
2020-03-10
You not only learn technical skills but how a production environment is. The instructors are top notch. Overall you will growth not only as an artist, but as a person too
Read more
Anthony Reynders
Anthony Reynders
2020-03-09
CG Masters is a great school, they teach the skills needed to do any aspect in a VFX pipeline and also the production side of the jobs, how to function in a studio environment which makes them unique as a school. All of this is taught to you by industry professionals with years and years of experience among them. The teaching method of valuing skills not grades is very much what I was looking for. I moved to Vancouver specially to attend the school and with the purpose to start a career in the VFX industry as a VFX compositor after graduating. Choosing to attend this school has been one of the best decisions of my life. I was able to reach my goals and I have been working in the industry for almost a year now. This thanks to the amazing team at CG Masters
Read more
Manny Wiebe
Manny Wiebe
2020-01-02
Amazing school that really cares about your learning and success. Teachers here are currently working in the industry and have alot of experience and insight that can help students who have no clue what they are getting into. Here you will learn how to become cost effective and work well in a team environment by being put into real production. As a result you will end up with professional quality demo reels which will increase your chances of being hired. All that is required on your part is that you put in genuine effort and give it your all. No one can make you do that, it comes from your drive, passion, and willingness to learn. I would recommend this school to anyone that is serious about getting into the 3D Animation & VFX industry. You'll be surprised how much you can learn from only one year of training here.
Read more
Saqib Ashraf
Saqib Ashraf
2019-01-22
A very well equipped and experienced school that thrives in using cutting edge technologies to groom its students to understand and experience what it would be like to work in a VFX studio in a high end production environment. The strength of the school is in having industry artists and generalists come in to teach regularly, coupled with the fact that the school cares about the students before, during and after course completion. Highly recommended.
Read more
Rebecca Lin
Rebecca Lin
2018-03-09
I chose CG Masters after researching and visiting a variety schools. Nick was the only instructor who answered all my questions in a straightforward, clear and concise manner. No beating around the bush. No vague answers. I knew with confidence going in that the school would provide a worthwhile experience and allow me to develop a good foundation for the skills I want to build. What I didn't know (but thought I did) was the sheer volume of information that I would need to learn and absorb within a one year period and to realize there's still a lot more to learn after even that. This program is intense and not suitable for people who don't want to put in effort. You are expected to spend a minimum of 40 hrs per week at school. The program's goal is to allow graduates to hit the ground running on their first day at their first job. Working part time while taking this program is not recommended. This program simulates a team production environment and you will experience every aspect of the pipeline. Get to know your team and make sure to let Nick know if you have a specific area of interest as early as possible. For someone coming in with no understanding or experience of the field, the learning curve will feel pretty high but the foundation you get will be strong. For someone coming in with technical background or previous experience, it still won't be easy. Nick will make sure of that since you are paying to learn. Take the initiative to ask questions, you will get more out of the one on one time with your instructors. Effort and attitude goes a long way. All your instructors are current industry professionals so treat the program like a one year interview. What you learn is up to date.
Read more
Kim Maglalang
Kim Maglalang
2018-02-15
I came to CG Masters having no VFX experience and was extremely happy with how thorough they were teaching the process of filming production to the end result in compositing. The program definitely challenges people of all skill levels so everyone is always learning something new. In the last two terms we worked in a simulated production environment which I really enjoyed because we experience the same team mindset as we would in an actual production pipeline. There are always people readily available for you to get help from. In fact our instructors were currently working in the industry they taught so the curriculum was up-to-date as possible.
Read more
James Greenwood
James Greenwood
2017-09-12
As a student attending this school with no real vfx background or knowledge of any of the software used in this industry I took a leap of faith with these guys and it certainly was not misplaced! It challenged me to the max and I learnt heaps. Finishing school I had a solid understanding of how a vfx pipeline works and felt comfortable to go into the industry knowing I was in the best place I could be as a junior. As a post grad looking for work the school also didn't rest until I had a job! Now happily employed and loving my career change. Deffo check this place out!
Read more
Richard Laszcz
Richard Laszcz
2017-09-11
This school changed my life. I started here right after high school where I had failed multiple classes. After only a year attending cgm I have a job working on vfx for big Hollywood features, which i think is pretty rad. The staff of the school couldn't be more friendly. They will eagerly help you out with basically anything as well as put up with you when you decide to go back to visit as many of us grads do. Throughout your time here you will be working in a simulated production environment which prepares you very well for work in the "real world." my current job included a 3 month training portion to all of the new hires up to speed with how that studio functioned and this preparation felt like a breeze after the training I had received from cgm. It's true that the work you do at the school can be challenging at times, but all of it is accomplishable if you give it your all. This school really shows you the amazing things you can do when you put your mind to something and I wouldn't trade my time here for the world.
Read more
Graduate
Testimonials
vincent paul
Vince Paul
3D Generalist, GVFX

What can I say about this school that hasn’t already been said? This school helped me realize my dream of working in visual effects. My time at CG Masters was one of the most challenging and rewarding years of my life. The education I received here prepared me to for a career in the VFX industry, and it also gave me insights on how to approach and troubleshoot problems in a more efficient manner (something I can use in my everyday life as well). I would recommend this school to anyone wanting to get into visual effects/animation.

daniel labossiere
Daniel Labossiere
FX TD
Double Negative

The learning at CG Masters goes far beyond knowing how to use vfx software. You’ll learn how to be an exceptionally competent and prepared commercial artist by living through the experience of working in a team production environment for a majority of the program. Creative and swift problem-solving as well as succinct team communication are among many of the skills honed. Your critical eye will be sharpened through numerous lighting/shading and dailies sessions led by Nick, who teaches you to be your own gatekeeper for quality in the pursuit of creating beautiful photorealistic imagery.

kelly eckstein 2014
Kelly Eckstein
Lighting Artist
Scanline VFX

The best place in the world to begin to hone your craft as a CG artist. Hours and hours of one-on-one training with mentors that are currently working in the industry, well planned out group projects, a real world studio environment, instructors that genuinely care about your success, and the latest software and techniques at hand. What more could you ask for in a VFX school? CG Masters has it all, and a year spent here will get you all the knowledge and experience you need to start your first job in the Vancouver visual effects and animation industry.

emily luke
Emily Luke
Lighting Artist
Rainmaker

This school is professional, efficient and it will put you through more learning experiences than you would ever expect. The instructors are knowledgeable, patient and never give up on you. The founding couple is passionate about what they teach and even after your graduation will keep you up to date on jobs, conventions and cool new software for you to try out at home. The alumni are a close group dedicated to each other and their new members with tips and tricks, open communication and honest feedback. Would definitely do it all over again.

kim walker
Kimberley Walker
VFX Coordinator
Artifex Studios

Honestly probably the best place to get education in VFX and learn what it is really like in the industry. With instructors who are currently working and are extremely knowledgeable. Nick, Vickie and Ryan are warm and welcoming and passionate about their work, their students and seeing them succeed. Absolutely consider this school if you want a successful career in Visual Effects!!

khari anthony
Khari Anthony
Compositor
Digital Domain

The fast paced environment was balanced out by its relaxed and approachable instructors. There is no way I would have kept my current job if it wasn’t for the production practice training at CGM

weston slater
Weston Slater
FX TD / CG Generalist -GVFX

It’s great being able to talk to someone who currently is working in the exact job in the exact industry that I would like to be working for.

craig bowles
Craig Bowles
Lead Lighting/Compositing Artist
Reel FX

CG Masters not only gave me the raw skills needed, they taught me how to work and be successful in a professional production.

Industry
Testimonials
saqib ashraf
Saqib Ashraf
Senior FX TD (former Houdini Instructor at CG Masters)
Sony Pictures Imageworks

A very well equipped and experienced school that thrives in using cutting edge technologies to groom its students to understand and experience what it would be like to work in a VFX studio in a high end production environment. The strength of the school is in having industry artists and generalists come in to teach regularly, coupled with the fact that the school cares about the students before, during and after course completion. Highly recommended.

chris browne
Chris Browne
CG Supervisor

They give them the training for a real-world studio environment so when we hire graduates from CG Masters they can really fit right into our pipeline. They seem to get what it’s like to work at a studio and produce really nice quality work.

luke vallee
Luke Vallee
Senior Compositor

I worked for the same company as Nick for three and a half years, and every time I had the opportunity to work directly under him on a project, it was a fantastic experience. All projects were handled professionally and the end results were never without a great deal of highly positive feedback from the director(s) involved. He is an extremely knowledgeable, diligent, efficient, and talented artist with an eye for perfection. He goes out of his way to make sure those working under him are taken care of and relaxed; thus enabling them to work to the best of their individual abilities.

dale fay
Dale Fay
VFX Supervisor
Zoic Studios

I have had the pleasure of working with Nicholas on multiple commercial and feature projects spanning more than a decade. He is insightful, communicative, creative, and a true professional delivering excellence in both his own work and his teams. I look forward to our next project together.

jknight
Jamal Knight
Senior Compositor
MPC

Nick’s excellent lighting skills, incredible attention to detail and calm demeanor make him a great VFX supervisor to work with.
His dedication to his craft even outside work is evident in his project cg-masters.com, providing training and giving back to the VFX community which is really admirable.
Anyone working with him will realise he is a great supervisor to have on your team!

dpogilov
Danila Pogilov
Senior Lighter
UbiSoft

I’ve been fortunate to work with Nicholas on Invictus during my time at CIS Vancouver. He’s extremely technical and also has a great eye for detail. Nicholas oversaw the shot finalling pipeline at CIS, and did an excellent work building a pipeline we could push hundreds of shots through. He is a great team leader and joy to work with.

Connect with our Admissions Team
and get your questions answered.